We have moved

Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act

On December 15, 2010 Bill C-3: Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act received Royal Assent.

Friday 4th March 2011 07:25   (Updated: Tuesday 14th July 2015 06:48)

Bill C-3 ensures that eligible grand-children of women who lost status as a result of marrying non-Indian men will become entitled to registration (Indian status). As a result of this legislation approximately 45,000 persons will become newly entitled to registration.

Source: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Frequently Asked Questions:

Who benefits from the new legislation?
All eligible grandchildren of women who lost status as a result of marrying non-Indian men are entitled to registration (Indian status) in accordance with the Indian Act.

What are the eligibility requirements?

Generally speaking, the key criteria to be newly entitled to registration are:

  • Did your grandmother lose her Indian status as a result of marrying a non-Indian?
  • Is one of your parents registered, or entitled to be registered, under sub-section 6(2) of the Indian Act?
  • Were you, or one of your siblings, born on or after September 4, 1951?

Why did the Government of Canada make these amendments?
The Government of Canada made these amendments in response to an April 2009 decision by the Court of Appeal for British Columbia in the case of McIvor v. Canada (Registrar of Indian and Northern Affairs).

When will these amendments come into effect?
These amendments are effective as of January 31, 2011.

Will anyone lose their Indian status as a result of this legislation?

No one will lose Indian status. In fact, approximately 45,000 individuals will become entitled to Indian registration as a result of this legislation.

For more information, please visit the website of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development:  CLICK HERE

Support CLIA:

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org! Faire un don maintenant par CanadaHelps.org!
Greater Charlottetown Chamber of Commerce 2015 President's Excellence Award Winner